New farm bills to help Karnataka’s cashew sector: KCMA

The Karnataka Cashew Manufacturers’ Affiliation (KCMA) has opined that the the latest acceptance by each properties of Parliament on Farmers’ Make Trade and Commerce (Advertising and Facilitation) Invoice will assistance enhance the progress of cashew sector in Karnataka.

KCMA customers, at the sixty fifth yearly standard meeting, were of the viewpoint that APMC (Agricultural Make Market place Committee) had been a key impediment for the progress of raw cashew trade in Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Uttara Kannada districts (the traditional cashew-developing regions in Karnataka).

Also read through Farmers protest versus farm Costs in many States

Cargo will get diverted to Tuticorin port to stay clear of the APMC regulation. APMC was not only accumulating the payment, but was also a key harassment to traders in standard, stated a assertion issued by KCMA.

With the deregulation of APMC, New Mangalore Port would be energetic in attracting cargo to Mangaluru, as it will now grow to be a key hub for raw cashew nut trade, they stated.

Speaking on the situation, Santhosh D’Silva of the Karkala-dependent Santhosh Cashews, who assumed cost as new President of KCMA for 2020-21, reiterated the need to have to aim efforts on expanding raw cashew nut production in Karnataka, as the cashew processing field in Karnataka is developing at 20 per cent yr on yr.

The AGM also made a decision to aim on indigenous raw cashew nut production by finding far more location underneath cashew cultivation in Karnataka and participate in the Key Minister’s ‘Vocal for Local’ initiative.


Next are the workplace-bearers of KCMA for 2020-21: Santhosh D’Silva of the Karkala-dependent Santhosh Cashews (President) D Gopinath Kamath of the Udupi-dependent Chithara Cashews (Vice-President) M Tukaram Prabhu of the Mangaluru-dependent cashew processor MMP (Treasurer) Vittalroy Kamath of the Bajpe-dependent Agri-Base Commodities (Secretary) and Amith Pai of the Udupi-dependent Amith Cashew Industries (Joint-Secretary).

Next customers were elected to the Taking care of Committee of KCMA for 2020-21: H Satish Pai, K Pramod Kamath, Krishna Kamath, KS Balram, Valerian Lobo, AK Rao, T Varadaraj Pai, S Vittal Bhaktha, Ashok Kamath, P Ganesh Kamath, Shuklambhar, Pandurang Nayak, Prasad Kamath, Srinivas Kamath, Srinivas Hegde, Ratnakar Nayak, Yogish Mallya, Noel Mathias, Gopinath Bhat, Krishna KN, and Dileep G.